Heavy Emotional Stuff

I started this blog partly because of the heavy stuff. That stuff you need to get off your chest but that non dance people don’t understand. I’ve been reading most of the dance blogs regularly for a year now and I feel similarly to everyone here. Dance is such a breaking and healing experience. It strips you naked in front of others so they can see the bruises, forcing you to look at these imperfections, and begins the healing process because when you finally expose yourself, recovery begins. That may have been too much, but it’s how I feel. I can’t throw all my issues into one post. It is not easy to put this out there. I don’t like to talk about these weak spots, but I need to. Dance has impacted every aspect of my life. The learning goes beyond the studio. I know I’m not the best writer and I’m just learning how to express my feelings. Hopefully I’ll get better with time and you’ll all stick with me.

Now I’m going to have a cup of tea and forget that I just posted this. Happy dancing, everyone!

5 thoughts on “Heavy Emotional Stuff

  1. I started blogging for exactly the same reason. I’ve put stuff out there and then second guessed myself – did I really just say that? Then I find out others have similar thoughts and feelings and it helps. Keep at it. Non-dancers really don’t get it, do they.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I write things because I needed a way to keep track of what I do. A dance instructor I knew once told all his students to keep a journal of their dance journey. While I was never his student, I kind of took the idea to an extreme.

    Plus, a lot of what happens during dance adventures is kind of surreal, so it’s nice to have a written record to verify that the way I remember things years from now is actually how stuff happened…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.