April Reading

I love to read. As an introvert and an only child raised in an era of only two TV channels, I learned quickly that reading is necessary for survival. I’ve always favored fun books with witty dialogue and happy endings. No surprise that I haven’t changed after growing up. I love Chick Lit, Romance, and YA. Historical fiction is another genre I like, but it requires thought. I find myself researching all the history in the book and the people and the list goes on. I enjoy this nearly as much as reading, but, with my schedule the way it is, I can’t indulge in historical fiction or weightier tomes until Little Mop Top finishes school for this year.

Since I got off work early (!) tonight, I decided to look at my book reading for the month. It was interesting to reflect on these books. I might have to continue the trend.

I have goals this year regarding my reading. One I mentioned in another post. I need to read LMT’s books before she does. I can’t assign a book to her that I haven’t read. It’s a bit easier now since she reads middle grade books; I’m not looking forward to a few years from now. She’s already begging to read Moby Dick. Crazy child. My second goal is to read my TBR of physical books. When I started watching booktube videos, I went berserk buying books. I have a nook, a kindle, an iPad, and a library card. There is no need to clog up my bookshelf with books I have no intention of keeping after reading. Those books are now top priority whether I like it or not!

LMT TBR:

The City of Ember

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

The Phantom Tollbooth

My TBR Read:

Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan

This Strange and Familiar Place

Find Me Where The Water Ends

Picture Perfect by Holly Smale

From the Library:

The Start of Me and You
Nook:

Shatter Me

Little Mop Top and I listened to three audiobooks this month. We usually have something going in the car.

Maniac Magee

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

The Horse and His Boy

I’m currently reading A Desperate Fortune by Susanna Kearsley. It’s taking a ridiculously long time to finish because it’s Historical Fiction (see opening paragraph). I love it and wish I could just sit and read for awhile, darn it!

