Heels Are Tricky

My lessons were great this past week. Really great. I’m not sure what happened in my brain, but my lessons are better than ever!

I mentioned to Teach how hard it is for me to see progress in myself. I can’t see myself easily as I’m usually trying to dance, not gaze upon myself in the mirrors. We spent some time talking about and dancing some of the things I’ve learned the past year. It was encouraging to see how much improvement he’s seen in me, plus he showed me in my dances the things that I just do naturally now that I couldn’t do a year ago.

Then we spent a long time on my feet again. Specifically, the roll through in smooth dances. I do not like backward heel leads. Heels on shoes are skinny and unstable and I don’t like pushing off from them. I do it because I have to. Well, apparently I’ve been doing it wrong. Teach walked me through it by telling me to lift my toes up first. Guess what? It worked! I’m no longer as afraid. I’m not saying it’s perfect. It’s one of those concepts that takes a while/forever to do well, but it’s the start of a new relationship with my dance heels.

As for all the things going on with too many teachers, too many studios, too little funds –  I haven’t been to Studio #2 because my daughter hurt herself at a party and can’t dance for a few weeks. So, I’ve shoved it away for now.

I’m off to practice my roll through. It’s quite amusing to watch me use my feet in this manner while grocery shopping, at work, during meal prep… Anyone practice in strange places?

4 thoughts on “Heels Are Tricky

  1. Standing in line to get my morning coffee, I will sometimes find myself practicing bending/straightening my legs while shifting weight from foot to foot. There is also another exercise I do sometimes as well. Depends on how many people are around and what music is playing.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.