Picture Book Mini-Reviews

I’ve read a few picture books this past week from NetGalley that I feel like I should review. I plan to use two in my homeschool this year, so they’re worth checking out. I’m not good with adding links and such, but all of these books are on Goodreads.

Things I’ve Said to My Children by Nathan Ripperger

Parents – Listen to yourselves. You could then add to this book. You say funny things. About the book: I thought is was cute. The pictures were funny and correlated to the crazy things being said. I wouldn’t buy it for myself, but I think it would be a good gift to give to expecting parents. 🙂

Don’t Dangle Your Participle by Vanita Oelschlager

This book does just what it says it will. You will never forget what a participle is again. It starts with a small lesson, then goes on to give a wrong and then a right sentence. Let me tell you, the examples are funny! The pictures make them even funnier. Great book that I will be using in my homeschool very soon.

Ivy In Bloom: The Poetry of Spring from Great Poets and Writers from the Past by Vanita Oelschlager

To be honest, I’m not sure why I loved this book so much. Maybe because children’s poetry is all I can understand. Or perhaps it was the clever way the Bibliography was put together. Maybe it was the inspired pictures. The progression from black and white to full color was amazing, as was the way the paintings looked so textured. All of the above? Five stars from me and guaranteed use during Poetry April with my daughter.

Thank you to NetGalley for providing these eBooks in exchange for an honest review.

