Attitude

I walked into Studio #2 with intentions of fixing my issues. Instead, I took a lesson with Mini.

I was emotionally tired, but dance usually perks me up. I was frustrated with myself and the situation and my inability to do something about it. (My fear of confrontation coming out.) I really tried to hide it and just dance, but Mini picked up on it midway through our second dance. He just assumed I was sleepy tired. I was tired because all those emotions are exhausting. But somehow, his assumption that I was sleepy tired triggered a huge attitude adjustment. I felt like a teenager that pouts and whines even when on vacation in Ireland (my step daughter). I wasn’t really tired. Who am I to be a complete princess when I’m learning something that not everyone has the means to do?

From there I led the lesson in terms of dances. West Coast Swing had me smiling and laughing. Cha Cha had me cheering when I managed a complicated, to me, figure on time. It turned into one of the better lessons I’ve had at Studio #2, and my best with Mini. Sometimes it really is all about attitude.

On that note, Showcase is coming up at Studio #2. I had such a blast with the Quickstep in June that I’m thinking of participating again. Also, since competition with Studio #1 is out, it will keep me motivated in my dancing. I had picked out a Tango to do, but since it will be dance with Mini, I think I’d better pick out a new song to one of the dances I enjoy with him more. I’m going to get on that soon.

Who knew that all those quotes about attitude were correct? Anyone else need an attitude adjustment from time to time?

