Back to the Classics Challenge 2016

I’ve always wanted to read more classics. The problem with this is that I haven’t liked many classics in the past (a hang up from school, I think), and there’s no accountability in my desire to read. A secondary reason is that classics tend to take more brain power than I have available at any particular time. I’m a busy woman with many distractions. I tend to go for the lighter books that I can put down easily when my daughter needs help or it’s time to fold some laundry. So this year I’m going to get some accountability in my desire to read some classics. I’m going to participate in the Back to the Classics Challenge hosted by Books and Chocolate. It’s a great one because you can read 6, 9 or 12 books depending on how your year goes. Below are the challenges and my tentative selections for each.

  1.  A 19th Century Classic – The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins
  2. A 20th Century Classic – Animal Farm by George Orwell
  3. A classic by a woman author – Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  4. A classic in translation – The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
  5. A classic by a non-white author – The Pillow Book by Sei Shonagon
  6. An adventure classic – The Time Machine by HG Wells
  7. A fantasy, science fiction, or dystopian classic – The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury
  8.  A classic detective novel – And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  9. A classic which includes the name of a place in the title – Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons
  10. A classic which has been banned or censored – Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  11. Re-read a classic you read in school (high school or college) – Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
  12. A volume of classic short stories – Dubliners by James Joyce

I will admit to being intimidated by a few of the above. Reviews and updates will happen periodically, so look out for them if you’re interested. Any words of advice as I embark on this journey?

