Them Hips

My final lessons of 2015 went well. The studio was fairly empty with everyone on vacation but me. 🙂 I reviewed my goals with Teach and he loved them all. We began working right away with Swing.

I have a problem with swing. I get frantic because it’s fast and then I can’t keep up. It’s completely mental. I get into my own head and it paralyzes me. So we worked on the basic step. Making sure my steps are small. Using my knees which gives it the swing. Who knew the dance was named after what your hips do when you dance it!

We spent some time on Rumba, as well. More with using my knees. Press lines and checks. It’s enough to make my head explode.

Teach gave me a list of the events that the studio hosts over the year. He wants me to think things over and see what it reasonable to expect next year. Since I’m still recovering from the last event I attended, I don’t even want to think about it yet. Thinking about money is such a downer. There never seems to be quite enough of it. Ah, well. I’ll figure something out.

Ta, ta fellow dancers. I hope 2016 brings lovely dancing for all of us.

 

