Classic Book Review: Animal Farm by George Orwell

No, I didn’t have to read this book in high school. No, I’m not privy to why not. You’ll have to find my High School English teachers. End result, I read it now, and I’m glad I read it as an adult and not as a teenager. I’m glad I didn’t have to dissect it to pieces and could just enjoy and glean what I could out of it.

I’m sure you all know the plot. The animals on the farm revolt. The leaders are pigs. The pigs are guarded by dogs. The rest are just animals. They have no time to think while they’re distracted by all the work they have to do. This book is still relevant, in my opinion.

What I was reminded of:
1. No human likes to be illustrated as being an animal, yet that is how they behave. This is particularly applicable to those who have power.
2. The power of propaganda and slogans is HUGE. I use present tense because it’s everywhere and not just political.

I have to say that my first book of the year was a good one. It made me think, and I like that. This is also my first book for the Back to the Classics Challenge 2016.

One thought on “Classic Book Review: Animal Farm by George Orwell

  1. I had to read it in high school, and didn’t like it. I’ve since gone back and read it (and many others that were forced upon me at school) and got so much more out of it! I think there are some books that require you to have some life experience before you can fully appreciate their messages.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.