Classic Book Review: The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

Goodreads Blurb:

Chilling, prophetic and hugely influential, The Time Machine sees a Victorian scientist propel himself into the year 802,701 AD, where he is delighted to find that suffering has been replaced by beauty and contentment in the form of the Eloi, an elfin species descended from man. But he soon realizes that they are simply remnants of a once-great culture – now weak and living in terror of the sinister Morlocks lurking in the deep tunnels, who threaten his very return home.

H. G. Wells defined much of modern science fiction with this 1895 tale of time travel, which questions humanity, society, and our place on Earth.

I love time travel novels, but this was not good for me. I was bored throughout. I usually love a good story, but the first person writing only made me tired. Nothing changed – the Morlocks and the Eloi stayed the same; life kept getting worse and dying out. Basically, the future sucked. I didn’t get anything out of this book other than happiness that I checked it off my list. It was short, thankfully. I didn’t like it, but am happy to defer to those who are more involved in the SFF community as to its value to the genre. At approximately 100 pages, it’s worth trying out. You may (or likely will, if Goodreads reviews are anything to go by) disagree with my review. 2/5 stars

This fulfills a challenge for the Back to the Classics 2016 Challenge.

3 thoughts on “Classic Book Review: The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

Comments are closed.