Classic Book Review: Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons

Winner of the 1933 Femina Vie Heureuse Prize, COLD COMFORT FARM is a wickedly funny portrait of British rural life in the 1930s. Flora Poste, a recently orphaned socialite, moves in with her country relatives, the gloomy Starkadders of Cold Comfort Farm, and becomes enmeshed in a web of violent emotions, despair, and scheming, until Flora manages to set things right.

I’ve had a difficult time trying to put my review in words. The movie of this book is one of my favorite movies ever. If you like British humor and complete randomness, I highly recommend you watch it. I also highly recommend that you read this book. The movie and book were closely related (for once). Mr. Mybug was hilariously awful! Everything he says has a link to sex. I completely identified with Flora’s need to put everything to rights. No one meddles quite like Flora Poste.

And what does Aunt Ada see in that woodshed, anyway?

I read this book with pleasure for the Back to the Classics 2016 Challenge.

