Waiting

Boy I’ve been sick. The Flu, a head cold progressing into sinus infections and ear infections. I haven’t had a lesson in a month, but here I am, in NYC, at Harvey and Sons Tea with my daughter, having tea, waiting for lesson time. I would be lying if I didn’t admit to being nervous.

I’ve kind of gotten a handle on how Clyde teaches. This is half the trouble sometimes. I need to know what they expect from me so that I can deliver it to my best ablility. Clyde teacher in a similar manner to the other teachers I’ve read about. He teaches a routine that incompasses the syllabus moves and then perfects it. The problem is that I’m just not remembering the routine. I haven’t been taught that way. I live a lot of life between lessons, and let’s be honest, I’m not practicing daily in between them. Should I be? Yes. But it just hasn’t happened. Especially the past three weeks that I’ve been sick. Needless to say, I’m rusty and Clyde won’t be happy.

This is also the day that I need to bite the bullet and tell Manager Lady that I have to switch studios. The time has arrived and I loathe confrontation. You would think that no one ever switched studios before with the way I feel. I don’t want to hurt feelings, but I keep reminding myself that I’m paying them and, therefore, get what I want if they want my continued business in their company. Twenty minutes till showtime. Hopefully I’ll have time to update everyone after. 

